Connect with us


Glitz, glamour at 8th AMVCA + Full list of winners – – FashionStyleng


It was all glitz and glamour at the eighth edition of the African Magic Viewers Choice Awards, which held at the Eko Hotel and Suites in Lagos on Saturday.


The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that popular On-Air Personality, Toke Makinwa; TV host, Ebuka Obi-Uchendu; TV personality, Uti Nwachukwu; and Ghanian actress, Sika Osei, were on the red carpets talking to celebrities about their choice of outfits.

The AMVCA red carpet started with John Ugbe, Chief Executive Officer of MultiChoice, reading his pre-recorded welcome speech and applauding African filmmakers for continually reinventing themselves while telling the African story.


The show was anchored by radio and television on-air personality, IK Osakioduwa, and the glamorous South African Bonang Matheba.

The show kicked off with Yemi Alade’s  performance of Tambourine.


T.after, Osakioduwa poked a joke at actor Deyemi Okanlanwon about his surviving during COVID-19.

Okanlawon almost pulled a Will Smith slap on him jokingly.


The Best Supporting Actress in Drama or TV series male and female categories went to  Omowunmi Dada for her role in: “Country Hard,” while Odunlade Adekola won for his role in “Jankariwo”.

Lagbaja and Rema mounted the stage and reminded the audience why a collaboration between the younger generation and older generation would always be a hit and experience mixed with energy.


“No do gra gra” and  “Konko below” classics were performed and had the audience swaying as the nostalgic feeling kept them on their feet.

The audience gave a thunderous applause after the performance.


The awards for Best for Africa Magic Comedy TV series, Best Creator went to Rogers Ofime.

Tinsel’s cast and crew won a lifetime recognition award for successfully running the series for 15 consecutive years.


For Best Actress and Actor in Comedy, Funke Akindele-Bello won for her role in “Omoghetto The Saga”, while  Samuel Perry, popularly know as Broda Shagi, won the Male category.

Awards for best actress in drama movie or TV series was won by Osas Ighodaro for her role in Rattle Snake.


Stan Nzeh won in the Male category also for Rattle Snake.

The organisers of the AMVCA took out time to celebrate  entertainers who had passed away.


They included are Karibi Fubara, Babatunde Omodina, Victor Olaotan, Sir Victor Nwaifo, Biglow, Sadiq Daba and Bolaji Rosiji, among others.

Best Talent Factory went to Daisy Masembe, while best dressed actor and actress at the AMVCA went to Denola Grey and Osas Ighodaro respectively.


They went home with N500,000 each.

Trailblazers award went to a production assistant that grew into a producer, Teniola Aladese.


The award was presented by Hollywood actress, Tasha Smith.

The Industry Merit Awards, an award given to deserving thespians in the movie industry, was presented to Taiwo Ajayi-Lycett, an octogenarian whose versatility cuts across stage performances and movies.


“I have led an incredible life and I am grateful for my journey and for those that are before me and those coming after me, God is great and I’m thankful,” Ajayi-Lycett said.

The award for the best Director went to Ramsey Nouah for his second attempt at directing in Rattle Snake.


Best Overall films went to Amina, a movie based on Queen Amina, the history of the first woman to rule the Zazzau Empire in the 16th century.

The event ended on an electrifying note with Dapo Oyebanjo, popularly known as D’banj, performing one of his hit tracks: “Ogbona feli feli.”


Full list of the 2022 AMCVA winners:
Best Art Director (Movie/TV series)
Tunji Afolayan – Amina

Best Picture Editor
Tunde Apalowo – For Maria Ebun Pataki


Best Sound Editor (Movie/TV series)
Jim Lively and James Nelson – Amina

Best Lighting Designer (Movie/TV Series)
Mathew Yusuf for Rattlesnake – The Ahanna Story


Best Writer (Movie/TV Series)
Manie Oiseomaye, Donald Tombia and Biodun Stephen – Introducing The Kujus

Best Cinematographer
Muhammed Atta Ahmed – Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story


Best Makeup
Balogun Abiodun – Omo Ghetto The Saga

Best Costume Designer
Millicent T. Jack – Amina


Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Swahili)
Freddy Feruzi – Obambo

Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Hausa)
Rogers Ofime for Voiceless


Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Yoruba)
David Akande, Demola Yusuf and Edgard Leroy – Alasie

Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Igbo)
Uche Nnanna Maduka – ‘Nne-Ka


Best Television Series (Drama/ Comedy)
Rogers Ofime -The Mystic River

Best Documentary
Saitabao Kaiyare, Mumo Liku, Elena Schilling, Daniella Fritz and Ann Katrina Boberg – If Objects Could Speak


Best Short Film Or Online Video
Taiwo Ogunnimo – I Am The Prostitute Mama Described.


Follow Fashion Style TV on Youtube

Click here for Latest Ankara Styles >> Read More

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.