Connect with us


Reigning NPFL Champions, Akwa United Defeat Fellow NPFL and Local Rival To Win 13th State FA Cup Title – Latest Sports and Football News in Nigeria

The reigning NPFL champions, Akwa United have won the 2022 Akwa Ibom State FA Cup for the 13th time after defeating league counterparts, Dakkada F.C 2-0 on Friday evening at the Godswill Akpabio International Stadium, Uyo.

Akwa United F.C got a narrow 1-0 win against Sir Monty Fc to book their place in the final while Dakkada F.C defeated Nigeria National League side, One Rockets FC also by a 1-0 score margin to set up a final showdown against The Promise Keepers.


In the final between the Nigeria Professional Football League sides, Akwa United made the first attempt at goal in the match when Bello Babatunde delivered a free-kick right onto David Onovo’s head but Dakkada Goalkeeper Loveday Anugbuo was t. to save the header.

David Onovo put Akwa United into the lead with a header from Ekundayo Omoniyi’s cross in the 28th minute before Franklin Matib slotted home Evans Ogbonda’s corner kick to double the lead just three minutes later.


Edidiong Ezekiel put on back for Dakkada F.C just before the halftime went off as the first half ended 2-1 in favor of The Promise Keepers.

Both sides were unsuccessful in their attempts to score another goal in the second half of the encounter as their two first-half goals from David Onovo and Franklin Matib were enough to hand the Uyo-based club the 13th Akwa Ibom States FA Cup title.


Akwa United will represent the state at the 2022 National AITEO Cup later in the year:

Post Views:


Follow Ankara Styles TV on Youtube

Click here for Latest Ankara Styles >> Read More

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Copyright © 2021 Fashion Style